Restore items from the Trash

Some items can be restored from the Trash if deleted within the last 30 days. After 30 days, items in the Trash will be automatically and permanently deleted.

What you'll need

  • Restoring from the Trash is available on all plans.
  • Everyone, including guests, can access the Trash.
  • Guests cannot permanently delete items or empty the Trash.
  • Members and guests can only see and restore items they have deleted.
  • The Workspace owner and admins can see, restore, or permanently delete any items.

Restorable items

Only some items can be restored from the Trash.

Restorable items Non-restorable items

Items that can be restored:

These items cannot be restored: 

 

Restore a deleted item

You can browse the Trash or use the search and filter features to find specific items you deleted.

  • For Workspace owners and admins, the link to Trash is in the Workspace settings menu.
  • For members and guests, the link to Trash is in the account settings menu.

To open your Trash and restore a deleted item:

  1. Click your Workspace settings or account settings menu.
  2. Select Trash.
  3. Browse or search for the deleted item.
  4. Click the ellipsis ... to the right of the item.
  5. Click Restore. When you restore a deleted item, tasks and subtasks that existed in multiple Lists will be restored to all Lists. Tags will also be restored to all tasks.

Image showing the restore option in the ellipsis menu

Not seeing a task you deleted? Check to see if the Folder or List containing the task is in the Trash. When Folders or Lists are deleted, their contents will not appear separately in the Trash.

Permanently delete an item

Once an item is deleted from the Trash, it can't be restored.

To permanently delete an item, from the Trash:

  1. Scroll or search for the deleted item.
  2. Click the ellipsis ... to the right of the item.
  3. Click Delete forever.

Was this article helpful?