Permissions overview

If you want to limit who can update or comment on tasks, Docs, Lists, or Folders, you can use permission settings. You can set permissions for both individual people and Teams.

To keep sensitive items confidential, you can make them private, then invite and set permissions to whoever needs access. For example, your accounting department could create a private Folder called Payroll, then share the Folder with only the @payroll Team.

What you'll need

  • On our Free Forever Plan, everyone who joins your Workspace can only have full access to create and edit items.

  • On our paid plans, members and permission-controlled guests can be given specific permissions.

  • Spaces don't have permission settings.
    • If you need to control access to Spaces, you can make a Space private, invite specific people, and then set permissions on the Space's Folders, Lists, views, and tasks.

Permission levels

There are four permission levels available for people in your Workspace:

  • View only: Gives the user read-only access to an item.

  • Comment: Gives the user the ability to add and reply to comments on an item.

  • Edit: Gives the user the ability to make changes to an item, including sharing it with others. The user isn't able to delete the item.

  • Full: Gives the user the ability to create, edit, share, and delete items.

Permissions vary by the type of item and user role. For example, the edit permissions level on a Folder allows members to share that Folder, but guests can't share anything, even with edit permissions.

Learn more about permissions in detail.

Set Permissions

You can set permissions when:

  • Sharing items with guests and members in your Workspace.
  • Inviting someone to join your Workspace by sharing an item with them.
  • Sharing an item with someone you've invited to your Workspace, even if they haven't joined yet.

Learn how to share and set permissions for specific items:

Delete items custom permission

On our Business Plus and Enterprise Plans, you can grant specific user roles the Delete Items permission, including the option to only allow users to delete items they created.

Workspace owners and admins can give specific user roles the ability to delete items by managing custom permissions.

Screenshot of Advanced Permissions highlighting the Delete Items Custom Permission

Public Sharing

Admins, Workspace owners, and members with edit permissions can share a public read-only version of tasks, Docs, or views with anyone, even people that aren't part of their Workspace. 

Updated

Was this article helpful?