Remove someone from a Workspace

Sometimes, it's necessary to remove a person from your Workspace. ClickUp makes this simple and fast.

Removing someone from your Workspace is a permanent action and cannot be undone.

After you remove a member or internal guest from a Workspace, their seat will remain open until filled by another person.

What you'll need

  • You can add and remove people from your Workspace on any ClickUp plan.

  • Only Workspace owners and admins can remove people from a Workspace.

  • Members can remove people from a private Space they own.

  • Workspace owners and admins can remove people from private Spaces that they have access to.

Remove someone from a Workspace

To remove someone from your Workspace:

  1. Click your Workspace avatar.
    • In ClickUp 2.0, this is located in the lower-left corner. 
    • In ClickUp 3.0, this is located in the upper-left corner.
  2. From your Workspace avatar menu, open your Manage people page.
    • In ClickUp 2.0, you'll select People.
    • In ClickUp 3.0, you'll select Manage users.
  3. Locate the person you want to remove.
    • To remove a guest, click the Guests tab.
  4. Under the Settings column, click the ellipses ... icon.
  5. Select Remove.
Screenshot highlighting the ellipsis menu's 'remove' option in the 'manage people' menu.

Remove a member from a private Space

You can remove people from private Spaces in two ways, from the Sidebar or Workspace settings. 

To remove people from the Sidebar:

  1. In the Sidebar, click the ellipses ... next to the Space name.
  2. Select Sharing & Permissions to open the Share this Space modal.
  3. Click to open the People dropdown.
  4. To the right of the person, click the toggle. You can remove one or more people at a time.

    • You can also Click Remove all to remove all invited people. 
      Screenshot showing how to remove one or more people from a Workspace.

From Workspace settings

  1. Click your Workspace avatar.
    • In ClickUp 2.0, this is located in the lower-left corner. 
    • In ClickUp 3.0, this is located in the upper-left corner.
  2. From your Workspace avatar menu, open your Spaces page.
    • In ClickUp 2.0, you'll select Spaces.
    • In ClickUp 3.0, you'll select Settings then Spaces.
  3. Find the Space and click Shared With
    Screenshot of the Shared With button.
  4. Click to open the People dropdown.
  5. To the right of the person, click the toggle. You can remove one or more people at a time.
    • You can also Click Remove all to remove all invited people. 

What happens to data when a member is removed from a Workspace? 

  • Any unshared, private items that the member had will be off-limits. If a user is removed, they will lose access to all Private items. Even if they are re-added to the Workspace, they will not regain access to those Private items.

  • Private Folders, Lists, and tasks owned by a deactivated user will be deleted and removed when they leave the Workspace. 
  • Any public items created by the member will remain and maintain accurate activity history.

  • The member will still show as assigned to tasks and comments, but a Deactivated label is added by their name. It's easy to remove them and reassign those tasks with the Bulk Action Toolbar!

    • If you re-invite a member that was previously removed and the tasks they were assigned to have not been reassigned, they will regain ownership of these tasks.
  • Any time tracked by a user who is later removed will remain on any tasks that they had previously tracked time on.

  • If you remove a member from a paid plan, that seat will remain open and you will be able to reassign it to a new user. If no new user is assigned before your next billing cycle begins, your member seat count will be adjusted down. 

  • Keep in mind attachments that were unshared and private will count towards your storage.

Inaccessible Spaces

If a user is removed and Space settings cannot be accessed by the remaining members, follow these steps:

  1. Make a user in the Space an admin on the People settings page.
  2. Then they will be able to add people to the Space and make someone else the Space owner.
  3. The user who was made an admin can be changed back to a member.

If a user is removed and a private Space is left without any members in it, the Workspace owner can take over ownership on their Spaces page.

Screenshot showing the option to transfer ownership in the inaccessible spaces tab.

Reassign tasks from a deactivated user

You can reassign tasks from a deactivated user using filtering or the People sidebar.

Filter to reassign tasks:

  1. While viewing Everything, sort your tasks by assignee. Be sure to Show closed tasks or filter for all statuses. Then, you'll see the deactivated user's tasks appear under their name.
  2. Use the Bulk Action Toolbar to select all of these tasks and un-assign or reassign them.

Use the People sidebar to reassign tasks:

  1. While viewing Everything or a particular location, click Assignees in the upper-right corner.
  2. Click the deactivated user to filter your view by tasks assigned to them.
  3. Use the Bulk Action Toolbar to select all of these tasks and un-assign or reassign them.

 

Was this article helpful?