People sidebar and Me Mode overview

ClickUp views will always show tasks assigned to all Workspace users by default. But with the People sidebar, you can select exactly whose tasks are shown in your current view or Me Mode to only show you the tasks that you're responsible for.

What you'll need

  • The People sidebar and Me Mode are available on every ClickUp Plan!

  • Guests cannot see tasks assigned to other users when using the People sidebar.

  • The People sidebar and Me Mode cannot be used on the following views:

Use Me Mode

Me Mode allows you to see tasks that are assigned to you, or that need your attention.

Turning on Me Mode applies to every view in your Workspace, but it won't change any views for other people.

When you have Me Mode enabled, creating tasks will automatically assign them to you.

To turn on Me Mode click Me in the upper right corner of any view. To turn it off, just click Me again.

Screnshot of the Me Mode button in List view.

Me Mode options

To customize what you see in Me Mode, you can check and uncheck the boxes shown in the Me Mode banner.

If the banner is hidden, you'll have to toggle Me Mode off, then back on to see the available options.

The available Me Mode options are:

  • Comments: Tasks with comments that are assigned to you.
    • Me Mode will not show comments assigned to any teams that you are a part of.
  • Subtasks: Tasks with subtasks assigned to you.
  • Checklists: Tasks with checklist items that are assigned to you.

Screenshot of the Me Mode banner.

 

Default to Me Mode

You can also make Me Mode the default for individual views. Turning on Default to Me Mode updates the view for everyone.

To default a view to Me Mode:

  1. Click on the ellipsis ... next to the view.

  2. Choose More settings from the menu.

  3. Toggle on Default to Me Mode.

Clicking the Me toggle on a view that defaults to Me Mode will only turn it off temporarily. Refreshing the view will re-enable Me Mode.

Checking or unchecking the Me Mode options on a view that defaults to Me Mode will prompt you to save your changes for everyone.

Use the People sidebar

The People sidebar allows you to see the assigned tasks of anyone in the Workspace or many different users at once. 

Screenshot of the People Sidebar.

To use the People sidebar:

  1. Click Assignees in the upper right of your Workspace.

  2. In the sidebar that appears, select the assignees that you would like to see or use the search bar to select a specific user.

  3. To hide the sidebar, click Assignee.

With the People Sidebar, you're also able to view tasks with comments assigned to users you've selected. Just toggle on Assigned comments in the sidebar! 

Updated

Was this article helpful?