Transfer Space ownership

  • Updated
Set up your Workspace for success by making sure your Spaces have the proper owners.
Spaces are the second level of the ClickUp Hierarchy and store all of your Folders and Lists. Spaces can only have one owner at a time. By default, the person who creates a Space is the owner.
Workspace owners, admins, and Space creators have extensive Space editing capabilities and access to Space settings.

What you'll need

  • Space ownership can be transferred on all plans.
  • The Workspace owner, admins, and Space creator can transfer the ownership of a Space.
  • Guests can't change the owner of a Space.

Transfer Space ownership

To change the owner of a Space:
  1. In your left Sidebar, hover over the Space you want to change ownership of.
  2. Click the ellipsis to the right of the Space's name.
  3. Click Space settings.
  4. Select All Space settings.
  5. Click Owner.
  6. Search for or select a new owner.
  7. Click Save changes.

Transfer ownership of an inaccessible Space

Workspace owners can transfer ownership of inaccessible Spaces. 

Spaces can become inaccessible when the person who created the Space is no longer part of the Workspace. If another member still has access to the Space, you can temporarily make them an admin so they can transfer Space ownership. For Enterprise accounts, Spaces can also become inaccessible when they are private, the admin does not have access to that Space, and Allow admins to manage private Spaces is disabled. 

To transfer ownership of an inaccessible Space:
  1. In the lower-left corner, click your personal avatar.
  2. Select Spaces.
  3. Click the inaccessible Spaces tab.
  4. Click Transfer Ownership next to the Space you want to transfer ownership of.
    • If there are no inaccessible Spaces, you will see a message saying You have no inaccessible Spaces.

Use cases

Two common scenarios require a transfer of Space ownership:
  • If you'd like to leave a private Space or hide it from your left Sidebar without deleting the Space, you'll need to transfer ownership first.
  • If someone else in your Workspace needs to delete or archive a Space, they'll need to be made its owner.

Was this article helpful?