Privacy, Permissions, and Guests

ClickUp's Sharing and Privacy settings mean that you’re in complete control of who sees what, what permissions they have, and who has the ability to add new members to a Workspace. 

There are three main areas to understand in ClickUp: user roles, sharing, and permissions.

Roles

The table below shows an overview of what each user role can do. Some items may not be available to you, depending on the permissions applied by your Workspace owner or admins.

User Roles Guest Member Admin Owner
Workspace

Guests can't view Everything.

Spaces

Guests can't see everything in Spaces.

Folders, Lists, tasks

Guests can be invited to specific items.

Views

You can allow individual guests to create views.

Create items

Guests can't create Spaces, Folders, or Lists.

Create tasks

Guests with edit or full permissions can create tasks.

Create Docs
Privacy and Sharing
Goals

Guests can't create or be assigned to Goals or Targets.

 ✅  ✅  ✅
Tags

Guests can't edit Tags.

Time Tracking and Time Estimates

You can allow individual guests to view and use time tracking and time estimates.

Custom Fields

You can allow individual guests to view and use Custom Fields.

Bulk Action Toolbar
Invite people to your Workspace

Members can only grant invited guests and members the same permissions or less.

Profiles
Home
Delegate reminders
Notifications
Integrations, imports, and exports
Transfer Workspace ownership
Delete Workspace
 

What are guests? 

Guests are people from outside your organization who you've shared specific Workspace items with.

Key details include:

  1. Guests don’t have access to Spaces

  2. Guests can’t create Spaces, Folders, or Lists

  3. Guests can’t see everyone in the Workspace 

What are members?

Members are people in your organization who actively work in ClickUp.

Members can do the following: 

  • Create Spaces, Folders, and Lists

  • Access to all public Spaces

  • See everyone on the Workspace

  • Share things with guests and other members (but can’t add new members) 

What are admins?

Admins are members that can be trusted to manage your Workspace.

Admins can do the following:

Sharing 

In your Workspace, you can make any item private and choose to share them only with select members of your Workspace.

By default, an item will be public meaning it’s shared on the same lines as its parent item. For example: 

  • A public task is available to anyone with access to its parent List. 

  • A public List is shared with anyone who has access to its parent Folder

  • And a public Folder is shared with everyone who has access to its parent Space  

Making an item private means it has a virtual privacy wall around it, and for someone to access the item, it must be shared with them.

By default, members see all public items and can be invited to private items.

Guests will only see items that are shared with them.

Each time you invite someone to share a private item, you’ll get an option to set a permission level.

 

Updated

Was this article helpful?