Removing a Workspace Member

  • Updated

Sometimes, it's necessary to remove a person from your Workspace. ClickUp makes this super simple and fast.

What you'll need

  • You can add and remove people from your Workspace on any ClickUp plan.

  • Only Workspace owners and admins can remove people from a Workspace.

  • Members can remove people from a private Space they own.

  • Workspace owners and admins can remove people from private Spaces that they have access to.

Remove someone from a Workspace

You must be a Workspace owner or admin to remove people from your Workspace. To do so:

  1. Open the Workspace you would like to remove a user from.

  2. Click your avatar in the lower-left corner.

  3. Select People.

  4. Locate the person you want to remove.

  5. Click the ellipses ... under Settings and select Remove.

Screenshot showing the 'remove' option in the People settings.

Remove a member from a private Space

You can remove people from Spaces in two ways:

From the Sidebar

  1. Click on the ellipses menu ... next to the Space name.

  2. Select Space settings.

  3. Choose Shared with.

  4. Hover over the avatar and click on the X for the user you would like to remove.

Screenshot showing the panel that lets you choose if the Space you're creating will be private or public to the Workspace.

From Workspace settings

  1. Click on your profile avatar and select Spaces.

  2. Find the desired private Space.

  3. Hover over the avatar and click on the X for the user you would like to remove.

Screenshot showing someone removing a member from the Spaces tab in the Settings.

What happens to their data when a member is removed from a Workspace? 

  • Any unshared, private items that the member had, will be off limits. If a user is removed, they will lose access to all Private items. Even if they are re-added to the Workspace, they will not regain access to those Private items.

  • Any public items created by the member will remain and maintain accurate activity history.

  • The member will still show as assigned to tasks and comments, but a Deactivated label is added by their name. It's easy to remove them and reassign those tasks with the Multitask Toolbar!

  • Any time tracked by a user who is later removed will remain on any tasks that they had previously tracked time on.

  • If you remove a member from a paid plan, that seat will remain open and you will be able to reassign it to a new user. If no new user is assigned before your next billing cycle begins, your member seat count will be adjusted down. 

  • Keep in mind attachments that were unshared and private, will count towards your storage.

Inaccessible Spaces

If a user is removed and Space settings cannot be accessed by the remaining members, follow these steps:

  1. Make a user in the Space an admin on the People settings page.

  2. Then they will be able to add people to the Space and make someone else the Space owner.

  3. The user who was made an admin, can be changed back to a member.

If a user is removed and a private Space is left without any members in it, the Workspace owner can take over ownership on their Spaces page.

Screenshot showing the 'Transfer Ownership' option in the Spaces settings.

Reassign tasks from a deactivated user

  1. While viewing "Everything", sort your tasks by assignee. Be sure to 'Show closed tasks' or filter for all statuses. Then, you'll see this deactivated user's tasks appear under his or her name.

  2. Use the Multitask Toolbar to select all of these tasks and un-assign or reassign them.

Was this article helpful?