Share private Channels with other stakeholders in your Workspace so they never miss important updates.
Invitees will receive a notification in their Inbox that the Channel was shared with them.
Feature availability and limits vary by plan and user role. Learn more
Share a private Channel from the Share button
To share a private Channel with someone from the Channel's Share button:
- In the upper-right corner of a Channel, click Share.
- In the Invite by name or email field, type the person's name.
- To the right of their name, select a permission level, then click the toggle. The Channel is shared right away.
- The person will gain access to the private Channel and become a Follower. If it is a location-based Channel, they will gain access to its Hierarchy location.
Share a private Channel from the Channel header
To share a private Channel with someone from its header:
- Open the Channel.
- In the floating sidebar on the right, click Followers or the Followers icon.
- In the search bar at the top of the Followers sidebar, type the name of the person you want to invite.
- Under Do Not Have Access, hover over their name and click Invite to Channel.
- The person will gain access to the private Channel and become a Follower. If it is a location-based Channel, they will gain access to its Hierarchy location.
Share a private Channel from a message
To share a private Channel with someone by @mentioning them in a message:
- When drafting a message, type @, followed by their name.
- Above your draft, select a permission level and click Add.
- Send your message.
- The person will gain access to the Channel and become a Follower. If it is a private, location-based Channel, they will gain access to its Hierarchy location.
Learn how to invite new people to your Workspace from Chat.
Change someone's permission level
To change the permission level of someone who already has access to a private Channel:
- In the upper-right corner of the Channel, click Share.
- Under Share with, click the arrow next to People.
- To the right of the person's name, select a permission level. To change everyone's permission level at once, click Edit all.