Delete Channels you no longer need.
Feature availability and limits vary by plan and user role. Learn more
Location-based Channels
Deleting a location-based Channel removes only the Channel. The Space, Folder, Subfolder, or List it lived on is not affected.
If you deleted a location-based Channel and a new Channel was created on the same location, you'll need to delete the newer Channel before you can recover the previous one.
A location-based Channel cannot be removed from a location without deleting it. To remove a Channel from a Space, Folder, Subfolder, or List, you must delete the Channel.
Delete a Channel
There are multiple ways to delete a Channel.
Channels can be restored from the Trash if deleted within the last 30 days.
Workspace owners, admins, and people with Full permission on a Channel can delete it. Some Channels cannot be deleted, like the General and Welcome Channels.
Deleting a Channel removes all of its messages and threads. Deleted Channels stay in the Trash for 30 days, then are permanently deleted.
From your Home Sidebar
To delete a Channel from your Home Sidebar:
- In your Global Navigation, click Home.
- In the Channels section of your Home Sidebar, hover over the Channel and click the ellipsis ... icon. Alternatively, right-click the Channel.
- Select Delete Channel.
- To confirm, click Delete.
From the Chat Sidebar
To delete a Channel from the Chat Sidebar:
- In your Global Navigation, click Chat.
- If you don't see the item in your Global Navigation, click More and select it. To keep the item visible in your Global Navigation, pin it.
- In the Chat Sidebar, right-click the Channel.
- Select Delete Channel.
- To confirm, click Delete.
From its header
To delete a Channel from its header:
- Open the Channel.
- In the upper-right, click the settings icon.
- In the sidebar, scroll to the Options section.
- Select Delete Channel.
- To confirm, click Delete.
From the details sidebar
To delete a Channel from the details sidebar:
- Open the Channel.
- In the upper-right, click the settings icon.
- In the sidebar, scroll down and select Delete Channel.
- To confirm, click Delete.
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about deleting Channels.
I don't see the Delete option, where is it?
You need to be an admin or have Full permission on a Channel to delete it. The General and Welcome Channels cannot be deleted.
I want to remove a Channel without deleting it
Location-based Channels cannot be detached or moved to a different location. The only way to remove a Channel from a Space, Folder, Subfolder, or List is to delete it.
Deleting a Channel removes all messages and threads. If you need the conversation history, copy important messages before deleting.