Frequently asked questions about privacy and sharing.
Q: What's the difference between privacy, sharing, and permissions?
A: Privacy allows you to hide Folders, Lists, or tasks from other users in your Workspace. Sharing allows you to invite members to private items and invite guests to private or public items. Permissions let you limit what members and guests can do with the items you've shared with them.
Q: Can members share items?
A: Members can share items with anyone with permissions greater than or equal to their own. For example, a member with edit permissions can share items with anyone that has edit or full permissions.
Q: Can guests share items?
A: Guests can't access any privacy or sharing settings.
Q: How do I share a task publicly?
A: From the share icon in any task, click the toggle next to Public Sharing to turn it on. Publicly shared tasks are view-only, and anyone with the link can see them.
Check out our article on sharing tasks for more details.
Q: How do I share a List publicly?
A: To share a List publicly:
- Find the List and click Share in the upper-right corner.
- In the share modal, click Share this view.
- Toggle on the Public link
- Click Copy public link.
Check out our article on sharing for more details.
Q: Can I share a view with someone who does not have a ClickUp account?
A: Yes. Many views (List, Calendar, Board) can be shared via a public URL link. To access a link, navigate to the view and click Share in the upper-right corner. Toggle on the Public link and click Copy public link. Learn more
Check out our article on sharing views for more details.
Q: Are guests and members able to view tasks that are dependent (waiting on or blocking) on a task I share with them?
A: Guests and members can only see the task IDs of dependent tasks unless they have permission to view the tasks.
Q: If I share an item with a guest and the item's parents are all public, how do I prevent the guest from seeing my entire Workspace?
A: You can make the item you share private, make the item's parent private, or limit the user's permissions to view only.
Q: I'm a member. Why do I see the "Shared with me" section in my left Sidebar?
A: This menu is visible when someone shares an item with you, and you don't have access to its parent.
Q: Is it possible to share a subtask but not the parent task?
A: No. Subtasks share all privacy, sharing, and permissions settings with their parent task.
Q: Can you make a subtask private to the members of the parent task?
A: No. The person who created the parent task also has access to all of its subtasks.
Q: If I create a task and someone else creates a subtask, who owns the subtask?
A: The person who created the parent task owns the subtask.
Q: If I share an item with a member who doesn't have access to the Space it's in, will they know about the Space?
A: No. They can only see the Folders, Lists, or tasks shared with them in their left Sidebar.
For example, if you share a task from a private Space with a member, they will see a new area in their Sidebar called Shared tasks and can't see the name of the Space, Folder, or List the task lives in.
Q: What's the difference between public and private?
A: Public items are available to everyone in your Workspace or anyone with access to the task, List, Folder, or Space where the item has been shared. Private items can only be seen by you and specific people or Teams you've invited.
Q: If I merge a private task and a public task, what happens to the privacy settings of the combined task?
A: If either task was private at the time of merging, the combined task will be private.